early bird walk

Knock on wood, our Chicago winter has been mild compared to last year’s record breaking one. No polar vortex. No frigid, below zero wind chills, and not too much in the ice and snow department.

In the winter of 2014, I was walking in the afternoon as much as possible so that I could benefit from any smidge of sunshine or warmth of temperature in the day.

How nice to have Winter get back to normal. I never realized how much I truly enjoyed the luxury of taking a walk whenever I want. When the gray days seem to blend one into another, I’ve found changing my routine and walking around sunrise can be full of surprise.

Some of the sunrises in this January have been eye-popping.

One morning I stopped and actually sat on the snowy ground to watch a sunrise roll out upon the horizon and wash a tsunami of color across the sky. So full of reds, pinks and purples, that I had to spin around 360 degrees just to take it all in. I’ve never seen anything so beautiful in all my life. I can’t believe this amazing spectacle was right outside my front door. Like waking up and walking out on to a different planet.

IMG_3414 IMG_3416

This lovely Earth was so breathtaking; I honestly had a lump in my throat.

As I walked my loops around the park, the theater in the sky showcased a different preview in all directions at once. On one side – the orange burst of dark and fiery drama roiling up, up and up. While on the opposite side – serenity, peace and pink gently brushed a blush upon the newborn sky. Which way to look? Energy or peace? Even in nature – the conflict of so many different views. I felt so lucky to witness this one lovely Earth moment.

IMG_3423 IMG_3421

My heart, definitely overwhelmed by it all – how do I hug the sky?

The rest of the day will be gray and white, with the sun having disappeared behind the thick blanket of clouds. I will be warmed for weeks by this memory, courtesy of an early bird walk.

Need to shake up your walk routine? I highly recommend an early bird winter walk. Warning: you may feel like…

IMG_1262

 

Let's talk about that walk...

