sweet interventions, effort and the discovery of a beautiful blog

It’s been a successful month for me. I made it through Halloween without eating an entire bag of candy in the days before, during and after! I started the Steps for Change Challenge, which has put me on track for making sure I am getting at least 10,000 steps per day in activity.

I managed to go through my pantry and fridge, pulled out some highly used items, and noted the sugar content. This was a chore, but necessary. (As always, some stuff surprised me!)

 

IMG_2516
Gaining some awareness of the extra sugar in my diet.

 

Though all this effort, all this re-organization of my sweet life, I was gifted a reward… I serendipitously discovered a blog with some scrumptious looking recipes that will allow me a wonderful and well deserved treat for eliminating the unnecessary junk sugar in my diet. (Because I do looove to bake.) In addition to the sweet treats, I look forward to trying out some of the other healthy recipes – mouth watering-ly photographedI might add – during the homebound doldrums of the sometimes brutal Chicago winters.

My attitude has been one of re-adjustment. I don’t want to eliminate sugar, I just want to be aware of how much I’m eating, especially when the holiday season makes it so easy to overindulge. (And I am someone who will!)  I want my sugar to be a more mindful and desired delicacy, really worthwhile, like a beautiful ‘homemade’ something, hmmm… spice cake donuts with vanilla bean frosting! That’s the one! Thank you Hostess at Heart!

My plan – (an intervention really) make a batch, have a sample and give the rest away as a treat for someone. (I have a neighbor in mind already.)

Just as I need to keep in the forefront of my mind the goodness of 10, 000 steps per day, I will also remember, “for an adult of a normal body mass index (BMI), about 6 teaspoons — or 25 grams — of sugar can be had per day. (25 grams of carbohydrate equals about 100 calories.)” I am definitely burning my 100 calories of sugar if I am doing my 10,000 steps. This is a win-win intervention – without any guilt.

One last intervention that has helped me be successful – I make sure to have some healthy snacks at my immediate disposal throughout the day. This keeps me from grabbing something in a wrapper while I head out the door.

IMG_2513
Leave healthy snack alternatives around the house for those “grab and go” moments, when the sweet tooth attacks.

There is something to be said for effort. It doesn’t happen overnight, but it does happen. If I look at the future of downgrading my sugar consumption through three months of holidays, and holiday foods and parties, I get overwhelmed and depressed and I begin to think “I can’t do this, it’s too much.” or “Why am I punishing myself – why shouldn’t I be able to eat and sample all of the happy holiday sweets?”

Effort means I try each day to make a small change. I prepare for something I really want. I may slip once in awhile, but I accept that and get myself back to my plan as soon as possible. The next thing I know, my plan is working without me thinking about it. Success. Have you ever made a plan to make a change? Did you have even a small amount of success? I wonder…is that success the feeling of effort?

One thought on “sweet interventions, effort and the discovery of a beautiful blog

  1. Karen, you are so sweet to give me so much credit! I do try to cook conscientiously, but it’s all about moderation. Allow yourself a treat once in a while, and when you don’t eat as you should, don’t beat yourself up about it. You are as perfect as you can be today. Thank you for visiting!

    Liked by 1 person

Let's talk about that walk...

