barefoot versus “I call them…shoes”

 

This is my spouses favorite scene from an adorable movie we watched this year…

I can totally feel the daughter’s joy when she first looks down at her feet and screams – I love them! It’s how I feel whenever I get a new pair of athletic shoes, my feet are that happy.

In the time of the Croods, shoes were probably the latest technology in footwear. I’m sure I would have traveled the Earth to get a pair. Fast forward to 2014 and it’s interesting to note there is a part of our culture rediscovering prehistoric times, this is the movement back to barefooting. There is a society of people choosing to walk, hike, jog, go to work, the grocery store and more sans footwear. (Which also means – no socks.) Talk about living on the edge…

Learn what human barefoot running trends are teaching us about horse podiatry and laminitis management.

 

According to Amy Matthews, a movement analyst who teaches anatomy and kinesiology to yoga instructors as well as conducts workshops exclusively on the feet. “Shoes can make the feet passive and unconscious because they do all the work for us.”

While Adele Coombs author of the book Barefoot Dreaming suggests “Going barefoot is the gentlest way of walking and can symbolize a way of living — being authentic, vulnerable, sensitive to our surroundings. It’s the feeling of enjoying warm sand beneath our toes, or carefully making our way over sharp rocks in the darkness. It’s a way of living that has the lightest impact, removing the barrier between us and nature.”

The authors of the book Barefoot Walking point out the following benefits of shoelessness:

  • people tend to grow taller
  • abs of steel
  • reduced foot pain
  • improved circulation
  • get your baby feet back (whaaat?)
  • anti-aging

Hmmm. I have to admit all of these claims sound tempting. I am convinced I can easily be a barefooter around my home, but I’m not so sure about other public places.

For now, my poor passive, unconscious feet will have to make do with shoes while walking. It’s what they know, and I think they are pretty happy for the most part.

In fact, if I were ever to see anything like the starfish shoes the little sister was wearing, well, my feet would probably be the first on my block to try out a pair!

2 thoughts on “barefoot versus “I call them…shoes”

    1. I do think it might be better for the body, especially if one has access to a rural space. I live in a city, so the thought of stepping in a hot wad of gum or on a cigarette butt, scares me.

      Liked by 1 person

Let's talk about that walk...

