get out the door with a ‘blueberry smash’

This is my favorite summer breakfast – I call it a “blueberry smash.”

blueberry smash

It’s easy to make, colorful, and has protein which fills me up. If I am not eating it as a grab and go when I need to be out the door,  I add a small yogurt and a glass of juice for a nice sit down breakfast.

Recipe: Toast a slice of whole wheat bread. Smear on about a tablespoon of natural (just peanuts and and a touch of salt) peanut butter, and then smash about 1/2 cup of blueberries over the peanut butter.

Around this time of year, the blueberries are bigger and a touch sweeter and no sugar is needed. If the blueberries are on the tart side, drizzle on some honey.

Blueberries are best in their raw state because they are loaded with antioxidants. Antioxidants are essential to optimizing health because they help to combat the free radicals that can damage cellular structures as well as DNA. In other words, they work to keep the immune system strong. Blueberries are also good for the heart, the memory, the eyes and they lower the risk of some cancers. They contain fiber and are helpful in blood sugar regulation.

I love the little blues so much I planted a bush this Spring – I have a feeling it will be years before I harvest even a full cup. That’s OK because I’ll sample one blueberry every time I am on my way out to a walk and it will be warm from the sun and it’ll squish in my mouth like those sour squirt candies and I will be simply happy!

photo-22
Baby blueberry bush – 2014
Let's talk about that walk...

