rainy days and pennies from heaven

Pennies From Heaven

Every time it rains, it rains pennies from heaven

Don’t you know each cloud contains pennies from heaven?

You’ll find your fortunes fallen’ all over town

Be sure that your umbrella is upside down

Trade them for a package of sunshine and flowers

If you want the things you love, you must have showers

So, when you hear it thunder, don’t run under a tree

There’ll be pennies from heaven for you and me

Mamo at 97
Helen Delacruz in Florida

This is my lovely grandmother at 97 years old. If you click on her picture, you will be able to see a movie of her singing Pennies From Heaven when she was 98 years old. It was one of her favorite songs, and now it’s one of mine.

My grandmother passed away two years ago. She would have been 100 years old this year, going on 101. She was ready to leave, her time was done. The biggest complaint she had was –  she couldn’t get around her house anymore. Crippling arthritis was winning, it wouldn’t allow her to wash her windows or dust her pictures. Sitting in a chair, aware of the fine particles accumulating and settling around her became a torture.

When I was a youngster, I would visit her. She was “non-stop active” around her house, sweeping, dusting, washing dishes –  keeping everything neat and clean. She loved her chores and being a housewife. She was so very proud of her home, and in the sunlight, it sparkled. Housework was her workout…bending, folding, reaching, mopping, all of it causing her sweet, cheerful face to glisten with a moist dew of sweat.

I treasure the memory I have of her contentedly humming and singing as she moved through her work. I so loved hearing the warm vibrato of her voice, as she softly crooned a song’s lyrics to herself. She had a favorite song whenever it was raining outside – Pennies From Heaven. As a child, if I closed my eyes, I could just imagine the pennies falling from the sky into an upturned umbrella, I’m sure this song is the reason I have jars of pennies all around my house today.

There are days I miss my grandmother and her spirit. I think of her often in the Spring, especially when it rains. I don’t feel sad because I remember…if you want the things you love, you must have showers. Patience. I can hardly wait until the rain stops and the sun bursts out.  Walking through the neighborhood, I feel my grandmother’s presence in the flowers, the clean and sparkling flowers, glistening in the sun.

One thought on “rainy days and pennies from heaven

Let's talk about that walk...

