kid, you’ll move mountains…

The main doctor in my life was and and always will be…Dr. Seuss.  When I was a kid, my Mom subscribed to Dr. Seuss’s monthly book club. Once a month, we received a Seuss book in the mail. I remember being so excited on the day the book was to arrive, I would hang around our mailbox for hours. In dreamy anticipation of the colorfully illustrated book with the silly language, I waited. Oh, how they made me smile! Confession…I still read them today.

So often, Seuss books gave me the feeling I could believe in myself, that I could accomplish anything, if only…I tried. In the spirit of Dr. Seuss, let’s explore confidence, motivation and those stubborn, nagging barriers to walking.

“I have heard there are troubles of more than one kind. Some come from ahead and some come from behind. But I’ve bought a big bat. I’m all ready you see. Now my troubles are going to have troubles with me!”

Think about a time you had a challenge in your life, and you successfully overcame it. What was the challenge? What was the barrier to moving forward? How did you handle it? How did you feel when you conquered it? Think deeply about that feeling…did you feel confident? Confidence boosts our faith in ourselves. We begin to believe – what we will, we can. Ask yourself a question…can I make time to walk?

“Will you succeed? Yes you will indeed! Ninety-eight and three-quarters percent guaranteed!

With one successful challenge out of the way, it’s time to take on another. Think about what motivates you to want to walk, is it… To sleep better? Have more energy? Reduce stress? Lose weight? Choose one of these and close your eyes! Imagine you have been walking for six months. How do you see yourself? What is different from how you are today? How does what you see, make you feel?  Ask yourself…do I want to feel these benefits of walking?

“You have brains in your head. You have feet in your shoes. You can steer yourself in any direction you choose.”

In visualizing a future you, you have successfully overcome your self-sabotaging barriers. (Woo-hoo!) You have also created your motivation – the healthy feelings you will feel after six months of walking. Can you see, in your mind’s eye, what’s happening now? There it is – a path – beginning to materialize in front of you, and it leads to a new destination.

“You’re on your own. And you know what you know. And you are the one who’ll decide where you go…”

With the knowledge that you truly do possess some valuable self-sources… self-confidence and self-motivation, the next part should be easy… can you begin to think about designing a workable walking plan for yourself? Close your eyes…imagine what it looks like…

<3
One thought on “kid, you’ll move mountains…

Let's talk about that walk...

