open up to april

April…a month meaning “to open”, as in buds, trees and flowers. It is the month of worldwide celebrations…Passover, Easter, Buddah’s birthday, Earth day, Opening day (baseball), April Fool’s day, Liberation day, Freedom day, Arbor day, Greenery day and World Health day, to name a few. In honor of the last one, I’d like to dedicate my April blogs to those who (drumroll please…) are thinking of “opening up” to the possibility of beginning a regular walking habit!

With Spring weather finally starting to show up in Chicagoland one or two days in the week, there is no better time or place, to explore getting active. (This will also be helpful for me, as I am finding a need for some inspiration myself and as everyone knows –   it never hurts to re-examine or re-assess our actions.)

So folks, we are heading back to the beginning. Most of my April blogs will be pointed at those individuals out there who are in the “thinking about starting a pattern of regular walking” stage. Let’s see if we can move over to the “I’m actually trying to do this, sometimes” stage.

Throughout this month, I’d like to explore behavior change. There will be questions, many questions for you to answer. Rather than being pushed or pulled in a direction by this blog, the hope is you will move yourself  into the next stage because of something you value –  your health and well being.

Alright then, let’s get started…

 

A good way to start thinking about changing a behavior is to ask yourself some questions…

“Why am I still reading this?”  : )

“How do I know I am ready to begin a walking program?”

“Did I ever walk before, how did it make me feel?”

“Is there any reason why I shouldn’t start walking?”

“Why do I want to start walking?”

 

One thing I will not ever do is tell you what the right or wrong answers to the questions are. Your answers are personal and they serve only you. All I ask, is that you take the time to reflect on your answers. And of course, remember to be “open” to the possibilities.

Feel free to post comments or questions – I’ll do my best to facilitate a discussion as we explore answers. Also, if you know someone who is thinking about starting a walk habit, please feel free to forward this blog to them, you can be an inspiration as well!

 

APRIL! #BringIt
Let's talk about that walk...

