imagine a walk

“Between every two pines is a doorway to a new world.” John Muir

This is one of my favorite quotes. It sits on my desk and motivates me everyday. The quote fires up my imagination. What new world will I find today? Will it be real – like the time I hiked through the majestic Muir woods in California and first found the quote? Or will it be surreal – a world of thought opened up by my mind, as I walk through my life?

In a society and culture where stimulation is ongoing, everywhere, and all the time, we might do well to take a mental break. A time to get away from it all, to cheer up, to reflect, to escape and imagine.  “Imagination is the beginning of creation,” said George Bernard Shaw. “You imagine what you desire; you will what you imagine; and at last you create what you will.” Powerful stuff.

When we are very young children, we are encouraged to use our imaginations. As adults, we are expected to be grounded in reality, statistics and facts. It is beneficial to our health to imagine as adults. Here is a link to a beautiful article on the power of imagination.

Active imagination opens up the mind to creative power. We can change patterns in our lives, we can deepen our experiences or we can find a higher form of consciousness to access when times are challenging. Athletes practice visualization in sports, cancer patients envision themselves free from disease, creatives experience a state of flow when the ideas take on a life of their own. The power of imagination is infinite – we just need to cultivate it.

To leave or enter my house, I walk through two pine trees. Isn’t that wild? I’m already imagining. What helps you imagine? What do you cultivate? Who do you become?

2 pinesedit

Muir woods – California

Let's talk about that walk...

