braintrain

Walking My Talk EXERCISE YOUR BRAIN  These words from the book "Secret Life of a Grown-Up Brain" really resonates with me, and I have to say that since I've been doing my page and writing and thinking on a daily basis, my thoughts are much clearer, more imaginative and clearer than they have been for many years....answers come much quicker and I have no problem remembering things as I go. This time last year I couldn't even tell you what the previous post I had made was about.....so keep your...

My brain, I believe, is the most beautiful part of my body.”  Shakira

Walking is good for the brain in so many ways.

Simple aerobic exercise, such as walking 45 minutes a day three times a week, improves memory and executive-control functions by about 20 percent.

Executive-control function is a set of mental processes that help connect past experience with present action. People use it to perform activities such as planning, organizing, strategizing, paying attention to and remembering details, and managing time and space. Hmm…pretty and important stuff.

How awesome –  regular brisk walks can slow down the shrinking of the brain and the faltering mental skills that aging often brings.

Walk of Brain. S)

This awful winter has been so hard on our beautiful brains.

I’ll admit, my hippocampus is a little sluggish from binge watching netflix. My prefrontal cortex might feel a little flabby – from not taking a nightly walk after dinner. Let’s not even talk about how my neurotransmitters are so tired of being wrapped up in a snowsuit, that they relay signals like a run down battery whenever the temperature is below zero.

The good news…we have “sprung forward” and I am taking my brain to the sunshine spa!

Yes, we are heading outdoors for some spring color, and a new “do”…after dinner walks!

Time to upgrade my walking playlist for my little brain with some peppy warm weather music.

Whistling walking brain. Has special meaning to me.
I think she’s happier already!
Let's talk about that walk...

