peace

I’ve decided to participate in a bloggers for peace challenge.

Anyone out there want to join me?

Basically, it involves writing one blog each month that is related to peace.

Here’s a sentence I grabbed about the website…”Bloggers for peace is a group of hundreds of individuals from around the world who have committed to publishing at least one (1) post per month promoting peace or the idea of peace.” I’ve included a link on my page if anyone is interested.

I have decided to join this effort because I believe it’s something very worthwhile and I care very much about the idea. After watching the attention grabbing scary news, and reading all the bad stuff in the papers and on the internet, I need a tonic. Something meant to soothe; get me back to thinking about how this world really is a beautiful place, and how fortunate I am to be in it. Maybe through this effort, peace can be brought to others, and maybe, it can be brought to just one.

So, here goes…each month there is a writing prompt – the focus for this month is “What one thought will you focus on this year to bring more peace?”

As I think about walking and peace and try to relate the two, immediately I think about one of my favorite books –  Wherever you go there you are. Mindfulness meditation in everyday life.  by Jon Kabat-Zinn

I love this book, and read it maybe 15 years ago. (Wow! already this is working because it motivated me to go back into the far recesses of my closet to dig out this book.) When I originally read this book, I thought I would never put it away because it gave me so many tools to remind me to live consciously in the present moment.

As a person who lives with anxiety, I’m always on the lookout for ways to settle myself. To live in and appreciate the richness of now, instead of having my thoughts constantly consumed by future or past events I have no control over.

In the book, there is a walking meditation, it is one of my favorites. At the time, I was not a walker, I was still jogging, biking, and chasing things. But I remember it as the beginning of my appreciation for walking. I started walking a couple of times a week, with the intention to be in the moment. I’d like to share a taste of the walking meditation.

“Being in the moment” can be practiced at any pace, in any type of walk. The key is to empty the mind. Let no other thoughts pull your attention away from a focus on the present; with each footfall a reminder to take each step as it comes, accepting each moment as it comes. It’s really very simple.

Walking meditations can be done at home in a loop or back and forth in the living room. Sometimes, having no where to go makes it easier to be where you are.  The challenge is:  can you synchronize your breathe with each step? This is mindfulness.

A person can walk mindfully with a dog, on a hike, down a corridor at work, or on a sidewalk. The key is to slow the pace if you are rushing and think about centering your mind. There is the here and there is the there. Stay in the here to get to the there.

If you think about it… walking can be stillness in motion.

recite-29721--1763874481-f297qspeace
Thich Nhat Hanh

 

8 thoughts on “peace

Let's talk about that walk...

