happywalks

I wish everyone a year of happy walks on this first day of 2014.

“What do you mean “happy walks?”

Well, sometimes when I walk I feel so… happy. I know you’re thinking “um… that’s just the brain chemicals that are released during exercise.” I know, but it’s more than that. There is the feeling of pure joy for me when I am able to move, to breathe, to feel my body take me where my brain tells it to go. I am ecstatic to be on this beautiful planet, with changing seasons, and a sky, and birds and squirrels and trees and lakes. I delight in walking with others, to be given the opportunity to talk and learn and grow. My mind gets to a place where nothing matters but feeling this good feeling. Those are some powerful chemicals. Guess what? Now I’ve got a habit! I’ve been walking for over six weeks and it’s become something I really look forward to.

Anyone who wants to walk, but doesn’t – I encourage you to begin to just think about walking.

Think about walking so much and so often that finally one day you get up and do it.

Walk one block, one mile, or five minutes – just take a walk outdoors one time and see how good it feels. Look up at the sky, breathe in the fresh air, clear your mind and feel your body moving. Know that you are fighting cancer, diabetes, alzheimer’s, and heart disease. You are letting go of stress, you are improving your balance, you are producing new synapses in your brain. Let yourself feel good.

Then do it again, yes, walk another time – twice in one week.

This time go a little further, breathe a little deeper, let go a little more.

Feel it feel good until you are thinking about… when you will walk tomorrow.

Buddha.
One thought on “happywalks

  1. You have really inspired me to get out and walk. I couldn’t keep track of distances while we were on vacation, but we did walk every day. Now that we are back home again, I’m going to try to get back into a routine. My yaktraks are ready, so unless it’s a big snow storm, I have no excuse for not walking.

    Like

Let's talk about that walk...

