snow

“Falling Snow”

 See the pretty snowflakes,
Falling from the sky;
On the wall and housetops,
Soft and thick they lie.

On the window ledges,
On the branches bare;
Now how fast they gather,
Filling all the air.

Look into the garden,
Where the grass was green;
Covered by the snowflakes,
Not a blade is seen.

Now the bare black bushes,
All look soft and white,
Every twig is laden,
What a pretty sight!

 Author: Caitlyn Turner

Today was one of those days when I found it difficult to get my walk in…so busy with the holidays approaching. Also, Chicago is in the midst of its’ first snow storm.

There were pictures to take of the dogs for our Christmas card, (always one of my favorite fun things) then there was… making the card and placing the order.

Today was also the day to purchase our Christmas tree, which happened even though it was very cold and somewhat blizzard-y. The reward – the house smells so good from the fresh cut balsam tree.

All throughout I kept thinking “when will I get out and walk?” To make it worse, it has been snowing all day. I love the snow and can’t wait to get out in it. I’ve been telling myself – tonight I’ll walk in the evening. I’ll take Phoebe and we will crunch around for a mile or two in the fresh fallen snow.

I savor this time of year, even though the days are getting shorter and shorter now. On evening walks I notice, my neighborhood is coming alive with outdoor lights, and there is a peaceful stillness from the snow. There are halos around the street lamps and the smell of logs burning in fireplaces floats on the air.

My two Saints – Phoebe and Nellie have an extra dose of playful energy – undoubtedly, something in the snow and cold stirs deep in their genes. Saint Bernards love the winter, I think I do too!

Me and the saints

Let's talk about that walk...

