thankful

It’s the day before Thanksgiving and it’s very cold out. Today’s hour long walk found me falling into a very brisk rhythm and a deep state of reflection.

I am grateful for many things this year. First and foremost, that I was able to retire – before I got too old and too crabby with my students; before I felt like I was working “only for a paycheck”;  and most importantly, before I got injured or sick or incapacitated. I strongly feel that I was able to go out ‘on top of my game’. (Kind of like Michael Jordan did when he retired from basketball.)

Next, I am very appreciative of my ability to walk and talk and… turn it into a blog. I have no idea where this is going or what it will become. All that’s important to me now is that I am doing it, plain and simple and that makes me happy.

For friends near and far (Japan), and the ability to share our stories and keep our connections I express heartfelt gratitude. My friends inspire me and keep me growing as a person.

I am also incredibly thankful for my family – all of them. My Dad, my brothers, their wives and kids, as well as my in-laws and their kids and spouses. (It is so fun to be able to say the in-law part.)

Which brings me to the biggest smile in my life – my wife, Eileen! She is the glue for me, she literally keeps me sticking to things, like our home and our dogs and all the stuff I’ve ever wanted to try or do. She is supportive, she is incredibly positive and she somehow influences me to be a better person than I ever thought I could be. I am so indebted to the cosmos for bringing her into my life.

I cannot believe this has been such an historic year in some places for gay people and we are finally beginning to become recognized and regarded as a couple through marriage. Thank you world. Just thank you!

IMG_1446

Eileen and the really big leaf!

One thought on “thankful

Let's talk about that walk...

