shoes

“Give a girl the right shoes, and she can conquer the world” Bette Midler

I love shoes, especially athletic shoes. As a gym teacher, I was lucky enough to have a different pair of shoes for any sport I participated in (and some that I didn’t). I also could match those shoes to whatever sporty ensemble I managed to put together for the day. This was one of the things that I loved most about my job. More importantly as I moved continuously throughout my day, my feet were happy which meant my knees, back and body were happy which meant I would be more inclined to participate again and again in any movement or activity.

Most activities have specific shoes designed to support, protect and cushion the foot according to the demands of the movement. For example, running and walking shoes provide cushioning, stability and motion control – very important when considering the constant pounding of the consistent forward motion on the feet. Basketball, cross training and tennis shoes respond to different demands on the foot – stability for side to side movements such as cutting laterally, outsoles with traction for pivoting, and greater flexibility of the sole to aid in low mileage running.

Technically, a person can walk in any shoe as most of us do day in and day out, but what fun is that!

Since it’s Fall, I recently purchased a new pair of running shoes for my walking that are made with Gore-tex. Gore-tex is a water repellent material that will keep my feet dry when stomping through puddles, or wet grass, or slightly snowy pavement. (Which might be here as early as next week according to our local meteorologists.) So far, they have worked amazingly well. I’ve walked through a rainstorm and some frosty grass and my feet stayed toasty dry.

I will be a walking conquerer!

Let's talk about that walk...

