welcome

Hello and welcome to the beginning of “walktalk”

But first…a little bit about me. I am a “newly minted” retiree. A former high school Physical Education teacher living in Chicago. I absolutely had my DREAM job for over 25 years and sometimes… I still can’t believe it’s over. I really loved teaching! Especially, sharing my passion for sports, fitness, nutrition and coaching with young people. As I began my career, I wasn’t sure I would be able to make a living or cultivate a lifestyle out of my greatest interest, but with perseverance and a dedication to a dream I am in awe of where I find myself today – at a crossroads – looking at the end of one road and the start of another.

It’s been two months since the school year started without me. What have I learned so far? That I love my time and the freedom to move about the world without the signal of a bell. I love being outdoors – walking in the park, walking the dogs, walking to the store, walking through the neighborhood, walking at the Lake…do you see a common theme here?  I guess I never knew how much I liked to walk. So, as I find myself at the start of “a new road in life”, it seems as if walking would be the best and most natural response for me.

As a former teacher and coach, it is in my nature to want to share knowledge and information about the beauty of this simple activity, with the hope of motivating, enlightening, inspiring or even just amusing one other person. So, here I am today, starting a walking blog.

Just like a walk- I had to get myself going and begin. Here’s to the new road.

Let's talk about that walk...

